Blue Mosque (or Masjid-e Kabud) on the north
side of Imam Khomeini Avenue, is a 15th-century
structure destroyed by one of Tabriz's recurrent
earthquakes Despite showing a sorry ruin, it was
recently restored with the utmost skill. Because of
the blue tiles used in the decoration of both interior
and exterior of the mosque, it has become to be known
as the Turquoise of Islam.
What remains of the mosque is a witness to its
earlier grandeur and splendor. Completed in
1465 by Nimatullah ibn Mohammad Bavvab, architect of
Prince Jahan Shah Torkman Salimi (of the Qara Qoyunlu
rulers) even today its Timurid tile work (main
entrance) with a blue-on-white inscription band of
mosaic tile in Riqa' calligraphy is of a magnificence
rivaling that of the Sanctuary of Mash had, as well as
a remarkable aspect of the new techniques, designs and
wider range of colors used here.
The entrance portal with its two minarets appears to
have been connected with the main prayer hall (Shabestan)
under the largest cupola of the mosque, by means
of vaulted corridor.