Blue Mosque (or Masjid-e Kabud) on the north side of Imam
Khomeini Avenue, is a 15th-century structure destroyed by one of
Tabriz's recurrent earthquakes Despite showing a sorry ruin, it was
recently restored with the utmost skill. Because of the blue tiles
used in the decoration of both interior and exterior of the mosque, it
has become to be known as the Turquoise of Islam.
What remains of the mosque is a witness to its earlier grandeur
and splendor. Completed in 1465 by Nimatullah ibn Mohammad
Bavvab, architect of Prince Jahan Shah Torkman Salimi (of the Qara
Qoyunlu rulers) even today its Timurid tile work (main entrance) with
a blue-on-white inscription band of mosaic tile in Riqa' calligraphy
is of a magnificence rivaling that of the Sanctuary of Mash had, as
well as a remarkable aspect of the new techniques, designs and wider
range of colors used here.
The entrance portal with its two minarets appears to have been
connected with the main prayer hall (Shabestan) under the
largest cupola of the mosque, by means of vaulted corridor.
both sides along the corridor, there stand the remains of the chambers
with vaulted roofs. The walls of the mosque have been riveted with
marble slabs and decorated with superb mosaic tiles. Some of the blue
mosaics in the mosque's portal are heavily damaged and half missing.
The mosque is now almost permanently closed, but renovation work and
eventual reopening seem inevitable.